Posted by: gospelworkers | February 6, 2012

Follow His Steps – No Deceit Found in His Mouth

“For to this you were called, because Christ also suffered for us, leaving us an example, that you should follow His steps.” 1 Peter 2:21

1 Peter 2:22-24 gives a list of character traits Jesus exhibited that can follow, since He is our example.  Last time we discussed the first one—“who committed no sin.” The second one on the list is just as

Isaiah 53 is a prophecy of Jesus and verse 9 closes with “nor was any deceit in His mouth.”

Jesus told the Pharisees, “But because I tell the truth, you do not believe Me.” John 8:45. Jesus also told His disciples, “Nevertheless I tell you the truth. It is to your advantage that I go away; for if I do not go away, the Helper [Comforter] will not come to you; but if I depart, I will send Him to you.” John 16:7

Let’s look at some other texts that show no deceit was found in His mouth—

Num. 23:19 “God is not a man, that He should lie, nor a son of man, that He should repent. Has He said, and will he not do? Or has He spoken, and will He not make it good?”

1 Sam. 15:29 “And also the Strength of Israel will not lie nor repent. For He is not a man, that He should repent.”

Titus 1:2 “In hope of eternal life which God, who cannot lie, promised before time began;,”

Heb. 6:17, 18 “Thus God, determining to show more abundantly to the heirs of promise the immutability of His counsel, confirmed it by an oath, that by two immutable things, in which it is impossible for God to lie, we might have strong consolation, who have fled for refuge to lay hold of the hope set before us:”

The 9th commandment says we are not to bear false witness.  False witness, in a nutshell, is lying or being deceitful.  Therefore if there is deceit in my mouth I am transgressing the law as it says in 1 John 3:4. 

And Jesus, our perfect example, did not transgress any of God’s laws.  He told us in Matt. 5:48 that we should be perfect even has His Father in heaven is perfect.  We can only live a perfect life, following Jesus’ example, by letting Christ live in us.  We can read that in Gal. 2:20: “I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God who loved me and gave Himself for me.”

My Father, live through me today, that I may be found with no deceit in my mouth.


Leave a comment

Categories